



## **EOQ Press Release**

## EOQ Presidential Georges Borel Awarding 2025 – Oslo/June 12<sup>th</sup>, 2025

The European Organization for Quality (EOQ) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2025 Georges Borel Awards, recognizing exceptional contributions to the field of quality in both European and international arenas. The awards will be formally presented during the EOQ Congress to be held in Oslo, Norway, on June 12, 2025.

This year, EOQ honors two distinguished leaders whose visionary work has significantly advanced the quality movement:

## Pedro Saraiva - Recipient of the 2025 Georges Borel European Award

Pedro Saraiva has been selected for the EOQ Georges Borel European Award in recognition of his outstanding dedication and leadership in promoting quality throughout Europe. Representing APQ/Portugal, Professor Saraiva has served as a key figure in EOQ for over a decade, including six years on the Executive Board. He played instrumental roles in organizing the EOQ Congresses in 2019 and 2023 and in advancing the European Quality Trademark (EQTM) initiative.

An accomplished academic with a PhD from MIT, Professor Saraiva has published extensively in the fields of quality, innovation, and public policy. He has held prominent national and academic positions in Portugal and has championed data-driven governance as the current head of PLANAPP. Internationally, his work with the International Academy for Quality (IAQ) and leadership in Quality 4.0 has placed him at the forefront of digital transformation in quality.

## Thomas Votsmeier – Recipient of the 2025 Georges Borel International Award

Thomas Votsmeier is the recipient of the EOQ Georges Borel International Award, acknowledging his global influence and lasting contributions to the advancement of quality standards and certification practices. With over 20 years of leadership in international standardization, Mr. Votsmeier has played a pivotal role in ISO, CASCO, IPC, and other key bodies, shaping global quality and environmental management standards.

As head of the Personnel Certification Body of DGQ since 2007, he has fostered the development of competence-based certification schemes and strengthened the professionalization of quality practitioners. Representing EOQ and DIN at the ISO level, Mr. Votsmeier is a strong advocate for aligning global quality systems and ensuring the European voice is heard in international decision-making.

His integrative, consensus-driven approach has facilitated global cooperation and knowledge sharing, making him a respected leader in the worldwide quality community.

Established in honor of EOQ founder Georges Borel, these prestigious awards celebrate individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and innovation in the advancement of quality, both within Europe and internationally.

The European Organization for Quality (EOQ) is a pan-European, non-profit association that promotes quality improvement and excellence across all sectors. EOQ works to foster collaboration, competence, and innovation in quality to improve society and organizational performance throughout Europe and beyond.

June 2025

If you'd like more information about this topic, e-mail Ulf Gustavsson - EOQ Secretary General at ulf.gustavsson@eoq.org